Sweet Relief: Habanero Agave Nectar

     In the series of posts titled “Sweet Relief,” I will be providing information on easy to make house-made syrups and cordials.  Two original craft cocktails of mine will be provided using said syrup or cordial.  I would really love participation along with this series.  I encourage you to make these sweeteners at home or bar and try them in any recipe you see fit.  Send me any recipe you like using my syrup or cordial…I would love to try them!  Today I present…

Habanero Infused Agave Nectar

     At my much beloved place of employment, Bryant’s Cocktail Lounge, we have prided ourselves on never having a cocktail menu…since 1938.  That being said, many customers will give us the opportunity to test our imaginations by requesting unique flavors for there cocktail experience.  One evening a young lady came into the bar and stated that she liked rum and LOOOOOOOOVED spicy food.  Instead of being sensible and telling her that I was not sure of how to go about such a request, I slapped the bar gently, gave her wink and walked away with a confident swagger…all the while trying my best to hide the sweat on my forehead and clear the nervous lump in my throat.  I ended making her a traditional daiquiri, with muddled cucumber, agave nectar replacing the simple syrup and a few dashes of Tobasco Sauce.  The end result was good, but not great.  The Tobasco Sauce added a vinegar element to the drink that I was not a fan of.  So I later decided to infuse the agave nectar with a pepper that did not add too much flavor to the drink, but the heat I was looking for.  And now, the recipe to the simple infusion:

Thinly slice five habanero peppers and place in a non-reactive container with a pint of agave nectar and .5 oz of 151 rum.  Let sit for 1 hour at room temperature and shake vigorously every 15 minutes.  Strain peppers and seeds through cheese cloth, making sure to give a good squeeze.  This infusion can be made based upon tolerance to heat.  If it gets too hot, please feel free to dilute with more agave nectar.  Make sure to wear gloves during this whole process…habanero oil stays on hands for awhile, and you may forget while using the bathroom.  It hurts…trust me!

Original Recipes

Gun Street Girl

2 oz. Matusalem Classico Rum

.75 oz. Fresh Lime Juice

.75 oz. Habanero Agave Nectar

2 Quarter Inch Slices of Cucumber

1 pinch Kosher Salt

1 dash Peychauds Bitters

Muddle cucumber and kosher salt in building glass.  Add all other ingredients, shake vigorously with ice, and double strain into coupe glass.  I like to garnish with a floating cucumber wheel.

Spiced Maggie

1.75 oz. Milagro Reposado

.75 oz. Fresh Lime Juice

.75 oz. Habanero Agave Nectar

.25 oz. Del Maguey Crema de Mezcal

Grade “A” Maple Syrup Rinse

Add all ingredients, except maple syrup, into building glass.  Shake vigorously with ice, and double strain into maple syrup rinsed coupe glass.

THANK YOU FOR READING


Published in: on May 7, 2010 at 3:17 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://thirdcoastcocktails.wordpress.com/2010/05/07/sweet-relief-habanero-agave-nectar/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Do you save this in the frig? Or outside frig is OK? What is the shelf life?

    • Hey David,
      I never noticed any spoilage while keeping the bottle out. It has an ounce of 151 and agave doesn’t crystalize like honey, so you should be ok for awhile. To be completely honest with you, I always run out of it so quickly that I never figured a shelf life or noticed flavors dissipating. Let me know if you experience any problems.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

