Sweet Relief: Coffee Syrup


     In the series of posts titled “Sweet Relief,” I will be providing information on easy to make house-made syrups and cordials.  Two original craft cocktails of mine will be provided using said syrup or cordial.  I would really love participation along with this series.  I encourage you to make these sweeteners at home or bar and try them in any recipe you see fit.  Send me any recipe you like using my syrup or cordial…I would love to try them!  Today I present…

Coffee Syrup

     As far as any syrup or cordial I have made to date, this one is by far my favorite.  A lot of people have asked how I make it…so instead of stating this syrup is intellectual property of Chad Doll, ass-bag bartender, I will happily share.

     Every single night before I go to bed, I fantasize about my morning coffee ritual.  It consists of coffee, the newspaper crosswords and the first smoke of the day.  The thought of this 15 minutes of bliss I have every morning of my life, brings a wiggle to my hips that I am unable to describe…I call it my happy dance.  A quick side note to any virgins or sexually challenged men/women who may be reading this blog…“Would you like to grab a cup of coffee?” is the equivalent to “Do you find me attractive enough to have sex with?”  Im pretty sure this is legally binding, but dont quote me on it.

     Lets move on to the syrup.

Ingredients

4 barspoons of freshly ground French Dark Roast Coffee

2 Tablespoons roasted cocoa nibs

3 Tahitian vanilla beans

2.5 cups hot water

5 cups demerara sugar

Making

-De-seed the tahitian vanilla beans.  To do this, you will need a flat service and a sharp knife.  Lay the vanilla bean flat and run the sharp edge of your knife from tip to tip on the bean.  This will expose the gooey innards.  You will need to scoop out all that lovely gooeyness and place it inside your handy french press.  Discard the shells.

-Place the coffee and nibs inside the french press with your vanilla.

-Heat your water to just below boiling temperature and pour into french press with the other ingredients.

-Cover and allow to steep for 30 minutes.

-After 30 minutes, press down firmly on the french press to extract all those wonderful flavors.

-Pour infusion into a large, non-reactive container along with sugar.  Stir or shake until sugar is completely dissolved.

-Bottle and cool before use.

     Both of my cocktails are riffs off of two wonderful classic drinks…The Bourbon Old Fashioned and The 20th Century Cocktail.  I hope you enjoy.

Original Recipes

Better Off Without A Wife

2 oz. Old Weller Antique

.25 oz. Coffee Syrup

2 dashes Angostura Bitters

2 dashes Peychauds Bitters

1 dash Regans Orange Bitters

Add all ingredients into mixing glass.  Stir, stir, stir with ice and strain into ice filled rocks glass.  Garnish with a large orange twist.

Bad Liver And A Broken Heart

1.5 oz. Plymouth Gin

.5 oz. Coffee Syrup

.5 oz. Lillet Blanc

.5 oz. Fresh Lemon Juice

Add all ingredients into mixing glass.  Shake vigorously with ice and double strain into chilled coupe glass.  No garnish required.

THANK YOU FOR READING!


The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://thirdcoastcocktails.wordpress.com/2010/05/13/sweet-relief-coffee-syrup/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey Chad, MxMo Monday on May 24th the theme is Tom Waits. Andrew Bohrer at Caskstrength blog is hosting. Check it out. Happy world cocktail day! Cheers

    • Thanks for the heads up Brant! Ill make sure to check it out. I hope you are doing great and your family is happy and healthy.

      • Much So! Jen’s B day today just mixered her up a Brolin. See you at Tales. By the way great Summer jam. I have that on .45 and spin it for Brolin he loves it!

  2. Ah, coffee…now you’re talking my language.

  3. My willpower against coffee was dwindling, and your coffee cocktail syrup struck a major blow against it. Meredith may have to hide the French press to keep me from breaking. Sounds delicious. Great work!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

