Quick Mix: Drambuie Cocktail


Recently I’ve been asked by the good people at the Bacardi Corporation to come up with a “modern twist” of the rusty nail.  The stipulations were that Drambuie and Dewer’s Scotch be at the heart of the cocktail, and to shy away from complex infusions.  Seeing as this post is going to be about the rusty nail, I will try my best to avoid any puns pertaining to geriatric sex, and any phallic references to a man hammer or wood.

Before I give you my twist, I would like to share with you my proportions on the original when Dewar’s is called:

Rusty Nail

2 oz. Dewar’s Scotch

1 oz Drambuie

2 dashes Peychaud’s Bitters

Combine all ingredients with ice into mixing glass.  Stir, stir, stir and strain over fresh ice into old  fashioned glass.  Garnish with the oils of large lemon twist.

When coming up with my new cocktail, I wanted to accomplish 3 things:

  1. Create a summer cocktail using the above mentioned ingredients. √
  2. Create a cocktail that anyone can make. (No infusions, no house-made syrups, no hard to find ingredients) √
  3. Create a Drambuie centric cocktail, with the scotch as a modifying ingredient. √

At the end of the day, my goals were met and this cocktail would have made Bonnie Prince Charlie’s back arch and toes curl.  So, without further ado, or more references to royals creaming their kilts, I give you:

Enc(rust)ed Nail

1 oz. Drambuie

.75 oz. Dewar’s White Label

.75 oz. Fresh Lemon Juice

.5 oz. Luxardo Maraschino Liqueur

3 Heavy Dashes Peychaud’s Bitters

Combine all ingredients with ice into mixing glass.  Shake and double strain into chilled coupe glass.  No garnishment necessary.

THANK YOU FOR READING!

Published in: on June 13, 2010 at 2:14 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://thirdcoastcocktails.wordpress.com/2010/06/13/quick-mix-drambuie-cocktail/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Looks like I’ll be breaking my Vegas-only rule. Sounds great!

  2. I know what I’m having the next time I stop in. Sounds luxurious and delicious.

  3. I’ve had the honor of having Chad make one of these for me and it was fantastic, no wood involved!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

